I’m PREGNANT!!!

family, life

I have so many things I need to go back and update on my blog BUT I couldn’t wait to do this one.

I am so behind because as I’m writing this I am 20 weeks and a day pregnant and I’ve now known for like 15 weeks. Oops. I guess that’s what happens when you have 3 businesses, you move and you have a toddler. Oh and you’re also super sick from being pregnant.

So with that being here’s the story of everything.

I took my first test on memorial day. I had just put Elaina down for bed, Michael was in Maryland for his dear grandma’s funeral and it was my time to rest and relax and to drink a little strawberry daiquiri. Before I drink, I ALWAYS take a test because I always want to make sure I am being safe.

Keep in mind a few days prior I had taken a test and then snapped a picture to remember the date and that it was NEGATIVE. So I pulled out the pregnancy test box, took the test and waited. I wasn’t expecting anything from it since, again, JUST had a negative test.

But there it was.

Two very solid and dark lines. I thought that this couldn’t be real. How did I just have a negative one and now it’s two BRIGHT lines?

So I grabbed another brand, different kind of test and took that one.

Same thing. Pregnant.

I started freaking out and crying. But why? I’ve been doing this mom thing for two and a half years. What was I afraid of?

If you don’t know, I’ve dealt with multiple miscarriages and an ectopic pregnancy, all which were traumatic in their own ways. I was terrified that something would go wrong this time too. I was scared I would lose my other tube and this baby. I was scared I would have to experience my worst fear of not being able to have another baby.

The following day I got my blood drawn and sure enough pregnant. But I went to the hospital knowing they would have to do an ultrasound.

I was scared of what they would be fine. But at the same time, I knew that the sooner I got checked the better. The doctor that performed my surgery the first time told me as soon as I got pregnant I needed to make sure that the baby was in the right spot.

So I went to the hospital, got my ultrasound and sobbed the entire time. I sobbed because I was alone (thanks corona), I was scared but I was hopeful. I was hopeful that everything would be okay.

And it was. The nurse showed me that the sac was in the right spot, exactly where it needed to be. It was still too early to see the baby but in that moment, I needed to at least know that was possible.

So the journey started.

Now I am 20 weeks and 2 days pregnant. Halfway through my pregnancy. I am grateful and thankful.

Now that we have moved and gotten settled and I am finally feeling so much better, I am able to do things and enjoy my pregnancy. This is what I needed for my last pregnancy. I needed peace and a calm stomach and some relief.

Sure, I have been dealing with back pain but man oh man am I happy I don’t have to deal with the constant nausea and throwing up. That’s all I’ve wanted.

I am so excited to meet this baby. I can’t wait to watch Elaina be a big sister.

So much to look forward to as well. Our lives are changing quickly.

I am so grateful.

Leave a comment